Early Opinions on Fall 2010 Anime

A non-video game blog post? What is this!? I decided since I’ve tried so many shows this year compared to other years that I should blog about it, so there. Order is the order that I watched them in:

Panty & Stocking with Garterbelt

Cross between: Jhonen Vasquez and Ren & Stimpy, with a dash of Powerpuff Girls
Episodes seen: 1
Thoughts: It’s like Gainax went back in time to the 90s, flew over to America, and watched what was popular then. It looks American, runs like an American cartoon with two 15-minute episodes…and is probably one of the more vulgar and weird things I’ve seen. And it’s a forced vulgarity with puns like Peni Station and shit monsters and sex jokes.
The animation is pretty good and stylish, though at times it’s a bit too limited.
The characters…meh. Stocking was the most tolerable, I really didn’t like Panty, and Garterbelt didn’t do anything. Whatever plot was happening was going to follow a standard “monster of the day” format.
I’m on the other side of the fence as far as this show goes, most everyone else seems to like it.
Status: Dropped

Star Driver: Kagayaki no Takuto

Cross between: Utena and Eureka 7, apparently
Episodes seen: 2
Thoughts: Well, I haven’t seen a new giant robot show in a long time. The best way to describe this is FABULOUS. Seriously, pink ties and buildings? Galactic Pretty Boy? A robot with stiletto heels? Even the villains dress fabulously.
Animation is a bit weird at times, especially in character designs. The characters are rather CLAMP-ish being all noodly, especially the lead character Takuto.
Characters are just kinda there right now. The evil people haven’t done too much other than rant about things, and the main characters aren’t developed other than Takuto being the new guy, Wako being a priestess, and the blue hair guy is engaged to her. Fish girl has a nice song that goes before every fabulous battle. The plot needs to start moving soon and get less confusing, though. I’ve had questions and the plot going from “slice of life first half, robots fighting second half” isn’t helping.
Status: Watching, keeping. It’s confirmed for 25 episodes.

Otome Youkai Zakuro

Cross between: Sakura Wars and Inuyasha
Episodes seen: 2
Thoughts: My favorite show so far! I don’t know if it’s the style, the characters, the plot, or what, but I’m really enjoying this one.
Animation is very pretty, especially when it shifts to the more blown-out colors in battles. The characters are very diverse and get some great facial expressions at times.
Considering this is the series I have the most nicknames for, the characters really stuck in my memory. Zakuro is a delicious tsundere, while Agamaki, the dude she’s partnered with, is very funny when he tries to please her. The twins are meh, though the way they play with their shota is cute. The other pair is rather quiet and doesn’t do too much, but hey, they don’t offend me. I’m really looking forward to how the plot turns out especially with regards to information on Zakuro’s past. The whole concept of spirits and Japan’s Westernization is quite interesting.
Status: Watching, keeping

Fortune Arterial: Akai Yakusoku

Cross between: Nothing, really. It’s a typical eroge adaptation
Episodes seen: 1
Thoughts: Ehhh…I picked this up because of the Lia OP, which is very upbeat for her. I don’t expect anything epic from it, it’s a slice of life in school, but with vampires.
Animation is typical, nothing amazing…meh.
Characters…well, the first episode pulled the trope of “run around the area meeting 90% of the main cast, hope you remember them all”. Everyone seems to have a sibling, which is weird. Plot…well, I have no clue where it will go other than the main girl falling for the main guy as they both deal with the whole vampire thing, I guess. I really don’t have many thoughts on this one since it’s so standard.
Status: Watching, three-episode test

Soredemo Machi wa Mawatteiru

Cross between: Nothing, as far as I know
Episodes seen: 1
Thoughts: Another series I just picked up for the opening, this time by Maaya Sakamoto. I…don’t know how to explain this one. It’s weird, it’s funny, it’s animated by Shaft. It’s about maids in a “maid cafe”, except the maids are all really eccentric. Y’know, the old lady maid is voiced by Takahiro Sakurai who also does Agemaki from Zakuro, and the main maid chick has the same voice as Maka from Soul Eater
Animation is weird. I’ve never seen a Shaft show before. Lots of interesting shots and positions.
Characters…wow. They’re out there. The old maid lady is just weird, the main chick is a failure at being a maid and lazy and totally funny, her friends are a perfectionist who also becomes a maid, and some female version of Morooka from Persona 4. Yeah. Plot…god knows where this one will end up, but I’m on for the ride.
Status: Watching, keeping. I need a weird humor series

Leave a comment